Google+ Followers

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Let's Listen: Ode to Joy

     A historical moment: Leonard Bernstein conducting the Berlin Philharmonic on Christmas Day, the year the Wall came down.  A wave of emotion carries conductor and orchestra through a heart-bursting performance.

     A "symphony" is a work of 3 or 4 movements for an orchestra.  Beethoven's 9th is different than most, as it includes a chorus.  The famous "Joyful, Joyful" theme was borrowed by Beethoven, and is credited to Schiller.  Beethoven was deaf when he wrote this, his last, symphony.
     Here is the iTunes link to download the entire, amazing event, or just a movement or two...

No comments:

Post a Comment