Google+ Followers

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Let's Listen: Emperor Piano Concerto

     Arthur Rubenstein (d.1982) was a Polish-born pianist with an especially joyous approach to music.  You will hear that in this video of him, performing Beethoven's 5th (and last) Piano Concerto, nicknamed "The Emperor," after Archduke Rudolf of Austria.  Read more about Rubenstein here:
     A piano concerto is a 3-4 movement work written for a solo pianist accompanied by orchestra.
     This iTunes link is for the Michal Masek performance of The Emperor.

Emperor Concerto - Michal MaĊĦek

No comments:

Post a Comment